2017-2018 TAS Board of Directors

Immediate Past President
Jason L. Locklin
Department of Biology
Temple College
Temple, TX 76504
Phone: 254-298-8409
jason.locklin@templejc.edu

President
Neil Gray
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The University of Texas at Tyler
Tyler, TX
903-566-7206
ngray@uttyler.edu

President Elect
Keith H. Pannell
Department of Chemistry
University of Texas El Paso
Phone:  915-747-5796
kpannell@utep.edu

Vice President
Alyx Frantzen
Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Stephen F. Austin State UniversityPhone: 936.468.2338

Treasurer
Kathleen Wood
Department of Biology
Univ. of Mary Hardin-Baylor
UMHB Station Box 8432
Belton, TX 76513
Phone: 254-295-4214
kwood@umhb.edu

Coll. Acad. Counselor
Cathleen Early
Department of Biology
Univ. of Mary Hardin-Baylor
UMHB Station Box 8432
Belton, TX 76513
Phone: 254-295-5041
cearly@umhb.edu

Coll. Acad. Co-Counselor
Karen Grant
Department of Biology
Univ. of Mary Hardin-Baylor
UMHB Station Box 8432
Belton, TX 76513
Phone: 254-295-4147
kgrant@umhb.edu

Chair, Board of Dev.
Raelynn Deaton
St. Edward's University
3001 S. Congress Avenue
Austin, TX 78704
Phone:  512-416-5841
paulad@stedwards.edu

2016 Student Representative
Ivy Jones
Dept. of Fisheries and Mariculture
Texas A&M University - CC
1300 Port Street
Port Aransas, TX 78343
Phone:  254-248-2235
ivycolleenjones@gmail.com

2017 Student Representative
Devin Garcia
Department of Biology

Temple College
Temple, TX 76504
corbittd305@stu.templejc.edu

Executive Secretary
Chris Ritiz
Sul Ross University

Corresponding Secretary
Marsha E. May
Texas Parks and Wildlife Dept.
Wildlife Diversity Program
Austin, TX 78744
Phone: 512-389-8062
Marsha.May@tpwd.texas.gov

2018 Local Host
Tom Ready
Department of Chemistry
Midland College
Midland, TX
Phone: 432-685-6748
tready@midland.edu

Coordinator of Information Technology
Christopher J. Vitek
Department of Biology
Univ. of Texas – Rio Grande Valley
1201 West University Street
Edinburg, TX 78539
Phone: 956-665-2845
christopher.vitek@utrgv.edu

Graduate Academy Counselor  
Shannon Hill
Department of Biology
McLennan Community College
1400 College Drive
Waco, TX 76708
Phone: 254-299-8188

 

Managing Editor of  TJS
Andrew C. Kasner  
Wayland Baptist University
1900 West 7th Street -CMB 1285
Plainview, Texas  79072
Phone: 806-291-1117
kasnera@wbu.edu

AAAS Representative
Sandra West Moody
Department of Biology
Texas State University
San Marcos, TX 78666-4616
Phone: 512-245-3360
sw04@txstate.edu

AAAS  Representative
James Westgate
Department of Earth & Space Sciences
Lamar University
P.O. Box 10031
Beaumont, TX 77710
Phone:  409-880-7970
James.westgate@lamar.edu

2015 Academic Director
Kathryn Perez
Biology Department
University of Texas - Rio Grande Valley
1201 W. University Drive
Edinburg, TX 78539
956-665-7145
kathryn.perez@utrgv.edu

2016 Academic Director
Danette Vines
Department of Mathematics
Southern Methodist University
3200 Dyer St. 130
Dallas, TX 75275-0156
Phone:  214-768-2212
asukhinin@smu.edu

2017 Academic Director
Francisco Gonzalez-Lima 
Department of Psychology
The University of Texas at Austin  
Phone: 512-475-8497

 

Manuscript Editor of TJS
Allan Nelson
Tarleton State University
Stephenville, TX 76402
Phone:  254-968-9158
nelson@tarleton.edu

Junior Academy Counselor
Vince Schielack
Department of Mathematics
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX  77843
Phone: 979-845-7554
vinces@math.tamu.edu

Jr. Academy Assoc Couns.
Nancy Magnussen
College of Science
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX 77843
Phone: 979-845-5587
nancy@science.tamu.edu

2017 Non-Academic Director   
Paul Fleming
Texas
Parks and Wildlife Department
Heart of the Hills Fisheries Science Center
Mountain Home,Texas

Paul.Fleming@tpwd.texas.gov

2015 Non-Academic Director   
Felipe Chavez-Ramirez
Director, Conservation Program
Gulf Coast Bird Observatory
Lake Jackson, TX 77566
979-480-0999
fchavez@gcbo.org

2016 Non-Academic Director
Margaret Russell
Program Manager, Nature Sites
Austin Parks and Rec. Dept
301 Nature Center Drive
Austin, TX 78746
Phone:  512-974-3867
Margaret.Russell@austintexas.gov

Historian, TX Academy of Science
Raymond C. Mathews, Jr.
Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center
6729 Poncha Pass
Austin, TX 78746
Phone: 512-619-5462
oceanrayaustin@gmail.com

Int’l Program Coordinator Hugo A. Barrera-Saldaña
School of Medicine, Autonomous University of Nuevo Leon
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, México
habarrera@gmail.com
+52 (818) 329-4172 (UANL)
+52 (818) 123-8249 (Vitagenesis)