I would like to announce a new undergraduate student award! TAS will be offering a $100.00 award to a student who is committed to undergraduate research in STEM fields of study. The award is open to undergraduate freshman or sophomore students for the 2016-17 academic year who are majoring in a STEM discipline(biology, chemistry, engineering, physics or math). Applicants must be a full time student with a minimum of a 3.0 average. Applicants must write essay on "What undergraduate research means to me." Applicants will send essay, letter of recommendation from research advisor, and unofficial transcript to  You must be present at TAS Annual Meeting to receive award.   Deadline for submission is February 14th, 2016 (please note the deadline for early registration is February 15th, 2016).

Danette R. Vines, President, 2015

PLEASE NOTE - if you were a student member who graduated or are no longer a student and want to remain a member, please contact us prior to renewing your membership!  If you need to change your membership type for some other reason, just send us as email and we can help you out!

PLEASE NOTE - if you submitted an abstract, that is a separate account from your TAS membership.  That username & password will not work on this website.



2016 Call for student research proposals!  We allocate $13, 500 to provide support to ongoing research for Doctoral students, MS students and undergraduate students.   We award funds to applicants who submit the top three proposals(1st = $2000, 2nd = $1500, 3rd = $1000).  The proposal instructions include the criteria for evaluation and acceptance of the award. The proposal application can be found here.  Proposals must be submitted by January 15, 2016.