Outstanding Texas Educator

Each year TAS recognizes a mathematics or science teacher from Texas as the Outstanding Texas Educator.  The selection of this award is made by the TAS of Directors from candidates for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) and the award is presented in early March at our annual meeting.  

2018 Outstanding Texas Educator

Mrs. Megan Gabriel, MSMT Denton High School, Denton, Texas

Megan Gabriel earned her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in mathematics educations from Texas Woman’s University in 2007 and 2012. She has been teaching at Denton High School in Denton, Texas since 2011. In addition to her responsibilities as department chair, Mrs. Gabriel works at Texas Woman’s University to prepare future educators for their certification exams. Mrs. Gabriel’s teaching responsibilities include PreAP PreCalculus and Dual Credit PreCalculus.

Mrs. Gabriel has been recognized for her teaching, being named the Teacher of the Year at Denton High School three years running, from 2014 to 2016. Recently, she was nominated as a Texas State Finalist for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.
The school motto of Denton High School, Dedication Honor Success, is one Mrs. Gabriel takes to heart, devoting herself to not only the education of students on campus, but to those beyond the classroom. She actively engages her students and pushes them to succeed, positively affecting student achievement throughout the campus.

While recognition from peers is always welcome, when it comes from students, it is even more meaningful.  In the words of a former student, “Mrs. Gabriel understands that relationships must come first.  I hated math but I know she cares about me and I don’t want to disappoint her.  She makes learning math fun.” 



2018 - Mrs. Megan Gabriel, MSMT Denton High School, Denton, Texas

2017 - Kirk Evans 5th grade teacher at Olson Elementary (Allen ISD) in Allen, TX

2016 - Carol Brown, Honors and AP Chemistry teacher at Saint Mary’s Hall in San Antonio, Texas

2015 - Celena Miller, Science and Technology Lab Instructor, Cesar Chavez Elementary

2014 - Mark Misage, Physics, Westlake High School

2013 - info to be added soon

2012 - info to be added soon

2011 - Martha Elizabeth Fiedler McLeod, Elementary, Biology, Westport 

2010 - info to be added soon